Living Outside the Box

unschooling, special needs and life as a disabled parent

Christmas Traditions

Leave a comment

One of the things I always wanted to do when I had children was start our own Christmas traditions and last year I began this by sewing 25 little numbered stockings out of felt. I hung them on ribbon and each night I snuck downstairs and put something into the next day’s stocking. Sometimes it was a craft kit to make Christmas decorations, sometimes a recipe, sometimes a clue to an outing and sometimes just a packet of sweets.

This year I am doing the same thing, although I have cut out the sweets and found more activities to fill the gaps because last year Small preferred the craft kits and cues for activities to the sweets anyway.

I have a rough list of what will fill the advent stockings this year including a Santa train ride, lots of crafts, baking, and a special trip to London with Small’s Granny. A few things, like the Santa train and the London trip, do cost money but mostly it is inexpensive because I buy craft supplies etc anyway. All I’ve done is to go with a Christmas theme when looking for things that Small might enjoy.

Tonight we brought in our Christmas tree while Small slept, got the decorations ready, and put one decoration and a note in the first advent stocking. I’m really looking forward to seeing his delight tomorrow!

PhotoGrid_1417398228716

Author: creativecripple2

I am Victoria, mum to Small. I have Hypermobility Syndrome which has left me disabled and Small has autism. We unschool and aim to live consensually.

Leave a comment