Living Outside the Box

unschooling, special needs and life as a disabled parent

Rollercoaster days

Leave a comment

Life with a child on the autism spectrum is a roller coaster. Sometimes it feels like a blessing but sometimes it seems too much to cope with.

But we cope – every family does, in their own way. For us it appears we have a few weeks of simply surviving, getting through the meltdowns and sleepless nights that would rival a newborn baby, then suddenly Small has a day that reminds us how wonderful life can be.

It’s nothing that would be obvious to an outsider. Maybe he gives me a quick kiss, perhaps he falls asleep a little easier or tries to dress himself. Today he was cooperative with toileting and cheerfully helped me sweep the floor. We cuddled in my chair and played Wii games and Snap. Insignificant things to some, but enough to feel we have had an easy day… a day that will give us energy and fire to get through the tougher times.

Today was a good day.

Author: creativecripple2

I am Victoria, mum to Small. I have Hypermobility Syndrome which has left me disabled and Small has autism. We unschool and aim to live consensually.

Leave a comment